MINUTES OF REGULAR BOARD MEETING COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER 1

HELD AT THE ARGENTA-OREANA MIDDLE SCHOOL/HIGH SCHOOL, 500 NORTH MAIN ST., ARGENTA, ILLINOIS ON MONDAY, AUGUST 14, 2023.

The Board of Education of Community Unit School District Number 1, Macon and DeWitt Counties, Illinois, (Argenta-Oreana Community Unit School District No. 1) convened on August 14, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. in the Argenta-Oreana Middle School/High School Library at 500 North Main Street, Argenta, Illinois pursuant to notice of regular meeting having been given in due form of law with Todd Armstrong, President, in the Chair, and with a legal quorum as follows: Susan Daley, Dawn Decker, Dick Logue, Christine Sample, Jeff Schroetlin, Cory White, and Todd Armstrong. Also present: Damian Jones, Superintendent; Sean German, Principal; Mike Williams, Principal and Tucker Mathieson, Assistant Principal.

Staff comments were provided.

Dawn Decker/Dick Logue, second, made a motion at 6:02 p.m. to enter closed session pursuant to the Open Meetings ACT – 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1), which permits a closed session to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific certified and/or non-certified employee(s) of the public body. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Cory White/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion at 6:14 p.m. to reconvene the regular meeting. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Jeff Schroetlin/Cory White, second, made a motion to approve the July 10, 2023 Regular Meeting Minutes. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dawn Decker/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion to approve payroll and bills. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Susan Daley/Dawn Decker, second, made a motion to accept the resignation of Marilyn Montague as Middle School Cross Categorical Teacher effective December 22, 2023. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Susan Daley/Christine Sample, second, made a motion to accept the resignation of Nathan Graham as Middle School PE Teacher and first assistant football coach. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dawn Decker/Susan Daley, second, made a motion to employ Meghan Durst and Kelly Allen-Smith as substitute teachers in and for the District on the first day of the 2023-2024 school year, contingent upon completion satisfactory to the Board of predicate legal requirements for employment as a substitute, including proof of professional educator licensure, fingerprint-based background check, and employment history review; Angie Grigg as district teacher on the first day of the 2023-2024 school year, contingent upon completion satisfactory to the Board of predicate legal requirements for employment, including proof of licensure, endorsement, fingerprint-based background check, and employment history review; Angela Turner as RtI aide, Sariati Tarigan-Anderson as elementary school 3-hour cook, Sara Antal as high school special education classroom aide, and Kim Stephenson and Christian Brooks as bus drivers for the 2023-2024 school year, conditional upon completion satisfactory to the Board of predicate legal requirements for employment, including fingerprint-based background check, and employment history review; Dan Bergfeld as high school assistant baseball coach; Sesha Shonkwiler as high school football cheerleading coach. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Todd Armstrong/Dawn Decker, second, made a motion to approve the following volunteer coaches; high school football – Jason Allen, contingent upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; high school volleyball – Riley Jones and Holly Ravenscraft; Middle School Softball – Riley Jones. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dawn Decker/Cory White, second, made a motion to approve the increases in substitute teacher pay rates as proposed. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Cory White/Dick Logue, second, made a motion to approve the Resolution Abating the Working Cash Fund of the District. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

The FY24 budget presentation occurred.

Dawn Decker/Christine Sample, second, made a motion to approve the 2023-2024 Student and Extracurricular handbook changes as presented. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Cory White/Dawn Decker, second, made a motion to adopt board policies and revisions - 2.110 QUALIFICATIONS, TERM, AND DUTIES OF BOARD OFFICERS; 2.170 PROCUREMENT OF ARCHITECTURAL ENGINEERING AND LAND SURVEYING SERVICES; 4.45 INSUFFICIENT FUND CHECKS AND DEBT RECOVERY; 4.60 PURCHASES AND CONTRACTS; 4.100 INSURANCE MANAGEMENT; 5.30 HIRING PROCESS AND CRITERIA; 5.150 PERSONNEL RECORDS; 5.170 COPYRIGHT; 5.230 MAINTAINING STUDENT DISCIPLINE; 5.260 STUDENT TEACHERS; 6.10 EDUCATIONAL PHILOSOPHY AND OBJECTIVES; 6.50 SCHOOL WELLNESS; 6.135 ACCELERATED PLACEMENT PROGRAM; 6.190 EXTRACURRICULAR AND COCURRICULAR ACTIVITIES; 7.15E NOTIFICATION TO PARENTS OF FAMILY PRIVACY RIGHTS; 7.60 RESIDENCE; 7.180AP1E1 RESOURCE GUIDE FOR BULLYING PREVENTION; 7.180AP1E2 BE A HERO BY REPORTING BULLYING; 7.180AP1E3 MEMO TO STAFF REGARDING BULLYING; 7.180AP1E4 MEMO TO PARENTS/GUARDIANS REGARDING BULLYING; 7.180AP1E5 REPORT FORM FOR BULLYING; 7.180AP1E7 RESPONSE TO BULLYING; 7.190AP1 STUDENT HANDBOOK-HAZING PROHIBITED; 7.275 ORDERS TO FORGO LIFE-SUSTAINING TREATMENT; 7.305 STUDENT ATHLETE CONCUSSIONS AND HEAD INJURIES; and 8.20 COMMUNITY USE OF SCHOOL FACILITIES. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dawn Decker/Christine Sample, second, made a motion to approve the Memorandum of Understanding /Letter of Agreement between A-O CUSD #1 and the AOEA to remove teacher salary caps. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dick Logue/Dawn Decker, second, made a motion to approve two facility usage requests as presented. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Susan Daley/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion to adjourn at 6:30 p.m. The roll vote: Susan Daley-yes; Dawn Decker-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Christine Sample-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Cory White-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

	APPROVED BY	
		Secretary
APPROVED BY		
	President	